Glad I’m not a Mechanical Engineer

I had a bad dream last night.

I was recruited by a company and was given a big fat salary rise (6 figures!), a car, a blackberry, a quiet private office overlooking a beautiful  park, and the job title of Mechanical Engineer.  I was given sheets of paper with numbers and symbols and had to solve the equations.  I was expected to perform with only paper, pencil, and a calculator.  There was no computer, no Microsoft Word or One Note, no Email, and no need to write any words.

Realizing I had just signed the next year of my life away to a wordless, computer-less job, I woke up quite upset.

I’ll keep my job as it is thank- you, it may not come with all those things, but it does come with lots of words and a speedy computer.  🙂

 

This was written for Show my Face 6 Word Saturdays.  Click here if you’d like to take part.

9 thoughts on “Glad I’m not a Mechanical Engineer

  1. Ron. says:

    I, too, often have job-related nighmares, but it’s always my regular job under regular circumstances. Nightmarish enough.

    • Yolanda says:

      I used to have nightmares about the current job, but this dream gave the current job glowing reviews. Now that current job is up in the polls, I can relax a bit at work. 🙂

  2. Kylie says:

    Sounds like your quite happy with your current job. I am glad to have found your blog. It looks great! Off to visit the more deep and meaningful one too.

    • Yolanda says:

      Deep and meaningful hasn’t been updated lately, been focusing more on the creative, but that’s ok, will get to it when inspiration hits. 🙂
      I didn’t think I was happy with my current job, but I think last night was a bit of a wake-up call, a reality check, that actually, it’s really not so bad, I do get to sit in front of a computer all day and work with words via Email. 🙂 I’ll take that any day over numbers!

  3. Jim says:

    Aren’t you glad you woke up! 🙂 I had a job like that. Now I dream that I was around when the program was to be run (I had taken another job by then) and I just didn’t know what to do. I really didn’t know how to program but I wrote lots of lines of programming.
    ..

    • Yolanda says:

      That makes me think of the SAP IT guys at work, how can they work with all those codes and programs and such a complicated system?
      I am so glad I didn’t dream that. I honestly don’t know whats worse. I’m just happy the world has lots of people who love to do those things. 😉

  4. betty says:

    I bet you were glad when you woke up and realized it was a dream! Honestly, I really have no idea what a mechanical engineer would do, but I’m thinking I wouldn’t be cut out for it either! Glad you are content with your current job! Have a good rest of the weekend!

    betty

    • Yolanda says:

      Honestly, I don’t think I know what a Mechanical Engineer does either, but I am sure they use computers. Hope you have a good rest of the weekend too 🙂

  5. soulbrush says:

    LOL, as I said -give me art instead- this was truly a nightmare!

Let me know what you think

