Whole weekend free, think I’ll write!

It’s a rainy spring weekend here in Melbourne, summer starts on Thursday, but with all this rain as of late, it still feels like we are in the midst of spring.  It’s been raining heavily all day, but I don’t mind as it’s it’s always easier to write when my garden isn’t calling me.  

Sam is off all weekend long making a film for Tropfest.  It’s the first full weekend I’ve had to myself since he was away in Europe for a business trip last April.  The idea of writing all weekend excited me and my only worry was that I would run out of inspiration and get sick of the computer half way through.    

I’ve never actually taken a whole weekend to write before.  Paint yes, meditate yes, garden yes, but writing, that’s a first.  I figure if I’m going to write a book someday I’d better get practicing because books don’t write themselves and one of the few things that never changes is the constant ticking of time. 

So in honour of the beautiful cool Melbourne rain that’s watering my garden, and cleansing this gorgeous city, I give you this little rhyme. 

 
He says good things can happen in the rain. 
But only to those who don’t mind
 
For the rain is for the heavy hearted
As it brings a sense of time
 
It washes away a dirty scab
And cleanses the inside
 
It calls deep into a heart within
Where hurt and pain reside
 
For no one can see you cry in the rain
As droplets and tears become one
 
Not everyone is ready to go there you see
Which is why I write this rhyme.
 
But I tell you this as I know its true
It’s actually not so bad
 
For when it’s finished cleaning and clearing
A sense of new appears

 

Written for 6 Word Saturday at Show My Face.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Whole weekend free, think I’ll write!

  1. Elaine says:

    I hope you have a good writing weekend – it seems like a good opportunity.

  2. gracia072267 says:

    Enjoyed reading your post You’re a great writer…

  3. Brenda says:

    Good luck with your writing…hope you’re productive!

  4. Janie Jones says:

    Greetings from 6WS!

    Having a whole weekend to one’s self sounds divine. It’s Thanksgiving Holiday weekend here in the US, and it means big family time. Which is great, but a gal and mom needs her own time from time to time.

    Hope your writing goes well!

  5. Jess says:

    That sounds bliss,a weekend just spent writing ~ enjoy

  6. Joseph says:

    I liked the poem, reminds me of today! : )

  7. betty says:

    Very nice poem!! Sounds like a perfect time to get some writing down with the rain outside! Good luck with it!

    betty

  8. Yolanda says:

    It looks like you are all in America, Happy Thanksgiving to you all 🙂

Let me know what you think

